President Declares Major Disaster for Missouri

DEADLINE APPROACHES:  Midnight on March 21, 2016, is the deadline to register for federal assistance.  

Grants from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) help eligible individuals and families pay for rent if the disaster displaced them from their homes, make basic home repairs, or cover other serious disaster-related losses. Both property owners and renters may be eligible. These grants do not have to be repaid.

Low interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are the main form of federal assistance following a disaster. SBA makes disaster loans available to businesses of all sizes, most nonprofit organizations, homeowners, and renters. Without a loan, many of those with disaster losses would be unable to rebuild and recover.

People with insurance are among those encouraged to register, as they may find after the deadline that FEMA can help them with losses their insurance doesn’t cover. Similarly, even individuals who have minor damage should register, because they may find out after the deadline passes that their repairs are more extensive than originally expected.

Register online at or by calling toll-free 800-621-3362 (FEMA),



FEMA issued a media release on January 21, 2016 summarizing key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama's disaster declaration issued for the State of Missouri.  

Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families can include:  
Rental payments for temporary housing, grants, low interest loans, and more. 

More info:  Federal Aid Programs for The State of Missouri

How to Apply for Assistance: 

  • Affected individuals and business owners in designated areas can begin the disaster application process by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. Applicants registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves (name, permanent address, phone number), insurance coverage and any other information to help substantiate losses.
Related Content: 
President Declares Major Disaster for Missouri
Disaster Assistance (Asistencia Por Desastre) Registration Information
Getting Disaster Help from the Small Business Administration (SBA)
FEMA News Release January 30, 2016 - NR05 National Flood Insurance Program Who's Eligible
FEMA News Release February 3, 2016 - NR06 Disaster Centers Opening
FEMA News Release February 4, 2016 - NR07 FEMA Offers Free Rebuilding Tips at Local Home Improvement Stores
FEMA News Release February 26, 2016 - DR-4250-MO NR-27 March 21 i Deadline to Register for Federal Disaster Aid

More Flood News:  Find more information on how to avoid scams, coping with the anxiety and stress after the flood, finding help, or giving help.  

The Disaster Resource Center (DRC) is now open at Tri County Senior Center, 800 W. Union Street, Union, MO  63069.  This is where those impacted by the flood can receive assistance in applying for FEMA assistance.  The DRC is open 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday.  The center is closed on Sundays.  

Posted January 22, 2016
Updated January 28, 2016
Updated February 8, 2016